It’s funny how people think you must have an opinion on everything and anything. 

‘Oh, what’s trending on social media…what’s your opinion on that?’

I remember how I always had an opinion on everything. Or at least, I wanted to. Two years ago, I remember going over to class and a friend asked what I thought about El Chapo’s extradition.

‘I mean, I don’t know. I just heard about it on the news this morning, I haven’t had time to process it yet’, I murmured, sweating nervously.

At this point, I should mention that ‘I don’t know’ was the worst thing that could happen to me. I made it my business to know everything! Oh, I had an opinion on everything you can think of; music, movies, law, society, feminism, racism, social injustice, books, world power, conspiracy theories, politics…name it. I was a walking mass of opinion, it was a surprise I didn’t explode. 

I was learning things I had no business knowing at that point. I read Dan Brown’s ‘Angels and Demons’ sometime in my 14th year. And I remember an uncle of mine scolded me about being too young. I scoffed then. But, I spent the better half of my 15th year searching for signs and symbols of Illuminati and reading up on Free Masonry. It was absurd. Now that I look back on it, that is.

This old, I think its all for naught. I don’t know everything. I shouldn’t, even. I don’t have an opinion on everything. And that’s fine. Because I shouldn’t. I have picked my battles carefully. Overlooking never felt so good.I just don’t care anymore, please, don’t stress me. That’s my mantra.

By all means,love something. Fight for what you believe in. Hold it dear. It just can’t be EVERYTHING. 

And again I say, YOU MUSTN’T HAVE AN OPINION OF EVERYTHING!

Drink water, sit yo ass down and mind your business…

It makes perfect sense to me, by the way.




Until next time,

EikÓJÖnwa❤

