‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ has been getting a lot of attention lately and I’m just here for that! I read the book for the first time ever in mid 2014 and I remember thinking that everyone needs to read this book. Everyone!

We’re now so overcome with being ‘blunt’ and ‘straight-up’ and such that we have relegated the other person’s feelings to the backdrop… Two weeks ago, a ‘friend’ said I look ‘stupid weird with that Snapchat flower on your head.’ I didn’t want to feel bad; I really didn’t, but it rankled still.

If I had a dollar for every time someone said something lowkey mean to me, or even another person, I’d have ‘thirty billion for the account’! We have gotten so used to spewing inconsiderate bullshit in the name of honesty. Without regards to how the other person would take it.

You have no idea how long and hard the next person has built his/her positivity only for you to come out of nowhere and ruin it with your negativity.

And this book/movie is just telling us, teaching us, warning us…that everyone is fighting something, struggling with something… and a kind word, or a harsh one…can go a long way in making or marring the self-love and confidence they’ve built. And we need to be careful how we treat people, what we say to people, what we do to people.

And if you are not horrified by the prospect that what you could have said or done could go a long way in affecting someone… Perhaps, you should start considering it.

*For those who haven’t seen the movie or read the book, Thirteen Reasons Why, is about a girl who’d committed suicide…and left a trail of letters in her wake detailing why she did. Or more like contributory factors to her suicide…

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS, YOU SHOULD! I’D PUT IT RIGHT IN THE SAME CLASS AS ‘THE FAULT IN OUR STARS’ AND ‘LOOKING FOR ALASKA’! IT’S BEAUTIFUL AND COMES WITH LESSONS!


Follow me on Twitter

And like my Facebook Page

