I am writing this listening to Bruno Mars’ ‘Grenade’ and screaming at my cream-coloured monstrosity of a wall…and if you think that’s cute… Well, don’t.
There are two kinds of people (oh, there are much more numbers of people, but for the sake of this, let’s limit the numbers, shall we). The takers and the givers. The takers take take take take… Never give. And the givers give give give give… Never take.

Its a vicious circle, with the taker on top and giver down under. But, you know what? The giver sleeps at night. I don’t care about the taker.

You want to know which you are? 

If you are that person that goes for breakfast, lunch and dinner on ‘friends’, seven times a week, you are a taker! If you are that person that never gives out presents and always gets one, you are a taker! If you are that person that never gives a compliment, but receives one, you are a taker! If you are that person who never says a word of encouragement to others, or a word of praise, you are a taker! If you are that person that have your friends come through for you, but not the other way round, you are a taker! 

Being a taker isn’t even about material things, its time, effort, love, care, understanding, positivity. If you are receiving these things and you don’t return them, ever, you are a taker! A taker can be either material or emotional. Intellectual or spiritual. The fact remains they’re taking something, an essence, creating a void they cannot fill.

And the giver? Always giving till they have nothing left. Not rely caring about receiving.

I’ll rather be a giver than a taker. My mum would always say ‘better to.give than to recieve’. But, I’ll set myself limit, because takers have none. I would pour, but I wouldn’t leave myself empty.
Are you a giver or a taker? Which might be better? And most importantly, does it make you feel better, sleep better at night?

Id I’ve to hear you! Don’t be a stranger. Leave a comment.


Yours Truly, 

EikÓJÖnwa.

